Moon River…it’s wider than a mile

night-moon-river-scenery

An early post from my original blog, publish back in 2006.  I did consider just binning it, but it still made me chuckle so I thought I would share.

Whenever I have rubbed elbows with anyone famous from celebrity chefs all the way to American Presidents, I have always found them to be polite and gracious.
On the other hand, my sister-in-law who used to be in the catering “biz” has one or two humorous tails of famous people being rude.

She told me about the American singer Andy Williams stay at The Grand Hotel in Birmingham. He spent several days being as rude as he could to all the staff before getting his comeuppance. You see Mr Williams liked to leave his shoes outside his room at night so the night porter could polish them….then the next morning he would pick them up together with his newspaper off his doorstep. This particular morning however the bedroom suite door blew shut, leaving Andy locked out and worse he was only wearing a hotel bath towel! A fellow guest raised the alarm but due to the rudeness of the singer for the past several days, the staff took over an hour to rescue him.
© Kevin Ashton 2006

Leave a Reply

